Polling For By-polls Continues In Punjab

LAHORE, (Muzaffargarh.City – 14th Oct, 2018 ) :The polling for by-election in eight seats of National Assembly and 11 seats of Punjab Assembly in Punjab province is in progress amid tight security arrangements on Sunday.

The polling was started at 8 am which will continue till 5:00 pm without any break. Till filing of this news, election process was smoothly in progress across the province and no complaint was reported from any where.

An interesting election process continued with enthusiasm in PP-272, where mother and son were contesting. Mother Zahara Batool contesting on Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) ticket while her son Haroon Sultan Bukhari contesting as an independent candidate.

In Punjab, the National Assembly Constituencies where the by-election is being held include NA-56 Attock, NA-60 Rawalpindi, NA-63 Rawalpindi, NA-65 Chakwal, NA-69 Gujrat, NA-103 Faisalabad, NA-124 Lahore and NA-131 Lahore.

The Punjab Assembly constituencies are PP-3 Attock, PP-27 Jhelum, PP-103 Faisalabad, PP-118 Toba Tek Singh, PP-164 Lahore, PP-165 Lahore, PP-201 Sahiwal, PP-222 Multan, PP-261 Rahim Yaar Khan, PP-272 Muzaffargarh and PP-292 D.

G. Khan.

As many as 5,193 polling stations have been set up in Punjab for by-election, whereas 848 polling stations were declared sensitive in the province.

A special security was put in place to ensure foolproof security for sensitive polling stations. The ECP also ensured special measures to facilitate the voters for having better turnout.

No one was be allowed to violate the code of conduct issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan, whereas additional policemen including DSPs and inspectors were performing duties to maintain law and order and ensure peaceful environment.

However, the polling stations were monitored through CCTV cameras and aerial surveillance. The policemen concerned have been directed to remain in the field to protect the people and ensure peaceful environment during polling.

The ECP has also set up a complaint cell at provincialelection commission office.