Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Workers Protest Outside Imran’s Residence Over Differences On Party Tickets

Islamabad, (Muzaffargarh.City – 9th Jun, 2018) : Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers protested outside party chairman Imran Khan’s Bani Gala residence on Saturday over differences regarding issuing of tickets for the upcoming general election.

The workers alleged that the party “did not issue tickets on the basis of merit”. The dozens of workers gathered outside Imran’s residence rejected the issuance of ticket to Ghulam Sarwar Khan from NA-59 and demanded that Ajmal Raja be fielded from the Rawalpindi constituency.

Meanwhile, PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry claimed that the party has issued tickets to “strong candidates”. “It will not be easy to contest against our candidates,” Chaudhry said. A day earlier, PTI announced party candidates for majority of the national and provincial assembly Constituencies for the general election scheduled to be held on July 25.

Imran while announcing the candidates had said the tickets had been decided on merit and that it was impossible to accommodate all aspirants. As per the list issued, PTI chairman Imran Khan will be contesting for five seats: NA-35 Bannu, NA-53 Islamabad-II, NA-95 Mianwali-I, NA-131 Lahore-IX and NA-243 Karachi.

Imran will not be contesting the election from Rawalpindi this time. Ghulam Sarwar Khan will contest the election from two Rawalpindi constituencies i.e. NA-59 and NA-63.

PTI vice chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi will be contesting from NA-156 Multan, while party spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry will be contesting from NA-67 Jhelum.

In Karachi, Arif Alvi and Ali Zaidi will be contesting the polls from NA-247 and NA-244 respectively. Saifur Rehman will be the PTI candidate in NA-242 Karachi. PTI leader Asad Umar will contest the polls from NA-54 Islamabad.

PTI will field Aleem Khan in NA-129 Lahore and Abrarul Haq in NA-78 Narowal. PTI issues candidates list for election, Imran to contest for five seats Dr Yasmin Rashid will be the party candidate from NA-125 Lahore.

The PTI has decided to field veteran politician Ghulam Mustafa Khar in NA-181 Muzaffargarh. Zulfikar Khosa will contest the polls on PTI ticket from NA-190 Dera Ghazi Khan. Pervez Khattak and Murad Saeed will be PTI’s candidates for NA-25 Nowshera and NA-4 Swat, respectively.

Aijaz Chaudhry will contest the polls from NA-133 Lahore, Nadeem Afzal Chan from NA-88 Sargodha, Shafqat Mehmood from NA-130 Lahore and Usman Dar from NA-73 Sialkot. The PTI also issued tickets to 81 candidates on Friday contesting election for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly.

The party, however, named its candidates in only 21 constituencies of the Sindh Assembly. It issued party tickets for 165 constituencies of the Punjab Assembly and 23 constituencies in Balochistan.