3,5000 Enumerators, 5,070 Vehicles For Census In Punjab

style="display:block" data-ad-client="ca-pub-4163322924037420" data-ad-slot="3714019811" data-ad-format="auto" data-full-width-responsive="true">

LAHORE, (Muzaffargarh.City – 14th Mar, 2017 ) : As the first phase of the sixth population census to begin in 16 districts of Punjab on Wednesday (March 15) more than 35,000 enumerators would start collecting the demographic data.

Talking to APP, Provincial Census Commissioner Punjab, Arif Anwar Baloch said that 5,070 vehicles have been hired while an amount of Rs 830 million has been distributed among the deputy census commissioners for the first phase of census which would continue till April 15.

“All the logistics and census staff have already been deployed in all these census districts to complete this important exercise in a transparent and secure atmosphere,” he added. He said that census districts to be covered in Punjab during the first phase include Jhang, Chiniot, Faisalabad, Toba Tek Singh, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Lahore, Hafizabad, Narowal, Sialkot, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Pakpattan and Attock.

Whereas Mianwali, Bhakkar, Khushab, Sargodha, Chakwal, Jhelum, Sahiwal, Okara, Khanewal, Multan, Sheikhupura, Nankana Sahib, Kasur, Gujranwala, Mandi Bahauddin, Gujrat, Bahawalnagar, Rahim Yar Khan, Lodhran, Rawalpindi, Cholistan and Islamabad will be covered in second phase.

Baloch said that in addition to enumerators, an army personnel would be attached with every enumerator for this exercise. He said that for the first time in the history of Pakistan,the transgender would be counted in the census and the bureau has also established a helpline to provide assistance and access to people to inform in case they were not counted in the census.

“Special control rooms have also been established to provide assistance to staff and citizen”,he concluded. It may be mentioned here that as per census Calendar, during the first phase the census would be conducted in 16 districts of Punjab province, eight districts of Sindh,14 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 15 districts of Balochistan, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir and five districts of Gilgit-Baltistan.